2020 Fellowship Competition Announcement

With the exceptions of 2017 and 2019, each year since 1993, NAALJ and its tax exempt 501 (c)(3) non-profit affiliate, the National Administrative Law Judge Foundation (NALJF), have co-sponsored an annual writing competition on a topic of interest to the administrative judiciary.  Past Fellowship award recipients have included many distinguished administrative law judges, hearing officers, and academicians.

In 2017, NAALJ and NALJF skipped a year in the competition in order to award the funds normally reserved for the competition to the Malcolm Rich Central Panel Study. The Central Panel Study was published in November 2019, in Volume 39, Issue 1 of the NAALJ Journal.

We are pleased to announce resumption of the competition in 2020.  This year we are seeking an article on one of the following topics:

  • Impact(s) of Lucia v. SEC, 585 U.S. ____; 138 S. Ct. 2044; 201 L. Ed. 2d 464 (2018);
  • Deference to agencies after Auer v. Robbins, 519 U.S. 452; 117 S. Ct. 905; 137 L. Ed. 2d 79 (1997), and expansion of prerequisites for application of Auer Deference set out in Kisor v. Wilkie, No. 18-15; 139 S. Ct. 2400; 204 L. Ed. 2d 841 (2019);
  • The importance of ALJ decisional independence and how it can be protected; or
  • A scholarly paper on a topic of the applicant’s choice.

ONLY ONE Fellowship proposal will be chosen.

All applications for the 2020 Fellowship must be in electronic format (Microsoft Word format preferred) and must include the following documents: (1) an abstract or an introduction to the proposed article; (2) a detailed outline for the proposed article; (3) a writing sample; (4) curriculum vitae; and (5) a list of publications. All submissions must be sent by e-mail to, with a cc to Hon. Edward J. Schoenbaum, Fellowship Committee Chair, at

Deadline for submission:  March 31, 2020.

The Fellowship Committee will review the submissions and select the Fellowship winner by April 30, 2020.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Prior Fellowship winners, current members of the Fellowship Committee, current members of the NAALJ Journal Board of Advisors, and current members and officers of the NAALJ Board MAY NOT APPLY for the Fellowship.

The Fellow will prepare an original article for publication in the Journal of the National Association of Administrative Law Judiciary, and will deliver an oral presentation of up to fifty (50) minutes (subject to a shorter time allotment in the discretion of the annual meeting planners) at the 2020 NAALJ Annual Meeting and Educational Conference. The Fellow will either prepare a summary or outline of oral remarks to be included in the annual meeting materials for CLE credit or will have the final draft of the paper ready for inclusion in conference materials.  The final draft of the paper will be due approximately six weeks after the 2020 Annual Meeting and Educational Conference, which will be held in Washington, DC, from October 4 – 7, 2020.  

The Fellow will receive a $1,500.00 cash stipend, as well as transportation, accommodations, and meals, at the 2020 NAALJ Annual Meeting and Educational Conference.

Applications and inquiries regarding the Fellowship should be submitted by e-mail to, with cc to Hon. Edward J. Schoenbaum, Fellowship Committee Chair, at

The National Administrative Law Judiciary Foundation (NALJF) is the educational arm of the National Association of Administrative Law Judiciary. One of the Foundation's major purposes is to promote the study and research of administrative law and distribute this knowledge to the administrative judiciary and the public. To further its mission, NALJF has endowed a Fellowship to encourage research and scholarship for improving administrative justice. In addition, NALJF also provides funding for the Neil Alexander scholarship, which assists NAALJ members to attend the National Judicial College in Reno, Nevada. The policies and application for the Neil Alexander Scholarship can be found at the following link: NAALJ-NJC Scholarship.

Click here to view the Bylaws for the Foundation.

© Copyright 2019 National Association of Administrative Law Judiciary 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software